Owned by the Kings Head Hotel, this part of our building has a rich history. In the 1860s, the ground floor was the hub of local trading in Ross-On-Wye. Above this, regular events like cabaret, bands, poetry readings, opera, plays and even roller-skating (which was all the fashion) were held here.
In 1922, the Corn Exchange kept up with the times and became a cinema called ‘The New Theatre’. However, in 1939, it was destroyed by fire. Later, the front entrance was rebuilt by the Town Council who used part of the building for housing and offices. From 1950s-80s, the rear part of the Corn Exchange, attached to the Kings Head, became a garage workshop.
Today, this old building has literally risen from the ashes. The Kings Head Hotel, an independent business, have reawakened the building, retaining its unique character and story. The Corn Exchange is tastefully restored and repurposed as a brewery tap and events space. After 150 years, we are delighted to be the home of an array of events, in the heart of Ross-On-Wye, now and far into the future.